Mammut MT Trail XT GTX Boots Review

Product review of the Mammut MT Trail XT GTX Boots by GO Outdoors founder John Graham.

Flexible and strong, the MT Trail offer supreme lateral support to avoid ankle rolling, whilst the special Mammut® Motion-Control System keeps your form perfect, even as you head back to the approach.

The Men’s Mammut Mountaint Trail XT GTX Walking Boots are a high quality pair of walking boots that provide waterproof, windproof and highly breathable due to its GORE-TEX® Performance lining.

The Men’s Mammut MT Trail GTX boots are classic nubuck leather boots designed for backpacking, trekking and harder trails.

Designed with natural leather combined with a GORE-TEX® Performance Comfort inner lining for weatherproofing, the Mammut MT Trail GTX are ideal for use in the cold and as your feet heat after hour upon hour of wearing.

Gripping and cushioned with a Vibram® MT-Traction sole as well as a PU wedge, the MT Trail benefit from a capable TPU insert, all at a low weight for easy packing on those long trips

8 Comments

  1. Dennis Nowland on February 23, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    Read the reviews! will stick to my Zamberlains.

  2. Wayne Robinson on February 23, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    These kill your feet 🦶and squeak like your feet’s wet when you walk , not recommended for hiking , Ok for sitting in a car or a short walk . I have over 900 km on mine and they still hurt .I returned the fist pair as they where faulty ,I even tried different insoles and don’t walk on wet rocks with them or you will slip and break your neck or fall of a cliff ,ok for loose dirt and grass grip wise.

  3. Aaron Dino on February 23, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    hi, im wanting a pair of these but can u get them in all black, cos i can only seem to find the dark brown ones, can anyone help

  4. David Winstanley on February 23, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    The soles fell apart in mine pity the soles don’t last like the uppers, had them re-soled by LSR still going strong after many miles

  5. Callum Thompson on February 23, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    I want these boots! Where can I get them?! Go outdoors aren’t showing them on the site!

  6. T4 OOMF on February 23, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    you cost me now i must buy it 🙂

  7. Mike Moren on February 23, 2021 at 11:44 pm

    I am so happy to find that they still make this boot!  I bought a pair when they were sold by REI (I think they were made by Raichle then?) almost 10 years ago and love them.  I unfortunately haven’t done a lot of hiking/backpacking in them but I use them more on home projects and for work (traipsing around the woods with field equipment).  The hiking I have done in them, they have been great.  I am still a fan leather uppers, as I’ve found that they just last longer.

  8. EMMA SOUTHWELL on February 23, 2021 at 11:45 pm

    I’m unsure whether these boots soles are identical to my Mammut Brecon GTX, but they do look identical. I’ve owned my boots for almost two years and the boots uppers are fantastic, comfortable fit, excellent foot placement, excellent stability and totally waterproof. However the soles have worn rapidly in my opinion compared to my previous Scarpa’s also with vibram soles especially in under two years. This whilst annoying is not as bad as the total lack of grip in wet conditions, if your intending walks involving lots of rocky areas in damp condition I would avoid, personally I wouldn’t trust them. I have contacted Mammut direct who responded promptly, but offered no real answers to my issues with the soles, some of the wear is obviously down to foot placement but, if you review them lots of people comment on Vibram soles lacking grip (they only fit Vibram soles so in reality they can’t really offer any solutions). I think some Vibram soles are grippier than others. I’m current looking for a non-vibram alternative  a real shame for an otherwise fantastic boot.

Leave a Comment